Campus News

Fourteen freshmen named 2007 Ramsey Honors Scholars

The Class of 2011 at UGA will include 14 Ramsey Honors Scholars whose academic achievements and diverse extracurricular activities have garnered them this prominent financial award.

The Bernard Ramsey Honors Scholarship is one of the most prestigious scholarships offered by UGA. Created by the trustees of the University of Georgia Foundation in 2000, the scholarships are named for Bernard Ramsey, UGA’s most generous individual benefactor.

For high-achieving incoming freshmen, the award provides additional merit-based aid so that they can pursue their fields of interest in UGA’s academically rigorous Honors Program. The award includes an annual stipend of $4,500 for in-state students along with the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students receive an annual $7,000 award plus out-of-state tuition waivers. Second- and third-year students in the program also are eligible for a $3,000 travel-study grant. 

“We are very impressed by the strong academic credentials and the diverse talents these students possess,” said David S. Williams, Honors Program director. “We are eager to work with them.”

Ramsey Honors Scholars enjoy the academic and cultural opportunities the Honors Program has to offer. These activities include study-abroad programs and one-on-one mentoring relationships with faculty, especially on individual research projects in the students’ respective majors.

This year’s Ramsey Honors Scholars have an average SAT score of 1510. Their average high school grade point average is 4.15 on a 4.0 scale, which indicates extra points for advanced placement classes. Their high school academic and extracurricular records also are impressive.

“All of these students have the academic ability and potential to do very well,” said Steve Elliott-Gower, associate director of the Honors Program.

The scholarships are renewable for an additional three years as long as the students maintain a cumulative 3.5 grade point average and are in good standing with the Honors Program.

The 2007 Ramsey Honors Scholars are: Jonathan Arogeti, Atlanta; Jason Berkowitz, Houston, Texas; Marcus Hines, Albany; Haylee Humes, Marietta; Mark Johnson, Loganville; Jung Kim, Suwanee; Nicole Nation, Lilburn; John Otwell, Dunwoody; Erika Parker, Midlothian, Va.; Griffin Rice, Locust, N.C.; Joseph Rimando, Warner Robins; Stephen Thompson, Savannah; Andrew Watts, Cochran; and Laura Wynn, Dunwoody.

These students join 22 other incoming freshmen who received Foundation Fellowships, UGA’s premier undergraduate scholarship.