2009 One UGA Scholarships awarded

UGA awards 2009 One UGA Scholarships

Athens, Ga. – Twenty-four University of Georgia first-year students have been awarded One UGA Scholarships for the 2009-2010 academic year.

Because the university recognizes the value of a broadly diverse educational environment for all students, these scholarships are provided to academically outstanding incoming students who will contribute to the diversity of the freshmen class. Preference was given to those who are first in their family to attend college.

This award provides $1,500 per year in addition to the HOPE scholarship to Georgia high school graduates. Out-of-state recipients also receive a full or half Regents Waiver that either covers all or half of the difference between in-state and out-of-state tuition.

The scholarship is renewable for an additional three years as long as students maintain certain academic standards.

For general information on scholarships, see http://www.admissions.uga.edu.

The 2009 One UGA Scholars are:

Name / Hometown / High School / Parent(s)

From Georgia (listed alphabetically by county)

Baldwin County

Christina Azahar / Milledgeville / Baldwin High School / Mr. & Mrs. Ramon & Grace Anne Azahar

Cherokee County

Huma Ahmad / Canton / Creekview High School / Mr. & Mrs. Maqbool & Iffat Ahmad

Clarke County

Marissa Loterina / Athens / Cedar Shoals High School / Alejandro & Martha Casteleiro & Joseph Loterina

DeKalb County

Kayley Alden / Decatur / Druid Hills High School / Mr. & Mrs. Mark & Kris Moss

Fulton County

Haley Bossert / Roswell / Roswell High School / Mr. & Mrs. Peter & Susan Bossert

Gwinnett County

Lilibeth Campino / Duluth / Berkmar High School / Ms. Lorenza Narvaez-Williams
Michele Chan / Lawrenceville / Peachtree Ridge High School / Mr. & Mrs. Pen Chan
Chelsea Kearns / Lilburn / Shiloh High School / Mr. Paul Kearns & Mrs. Diane Brodalski
Eric Salgado / Sugar Hill / North Gwinnett High School / Ms. Gloria Henao

Richmond County

Vanessa Williams / Augusta / John S. Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School / Mr. & Mrs. Curtis & Rose Williams

Tift County

Malavika Rajeev / Tifton / Tift County High School / Dr. Rajeev Nair & Dr. Sreekumari Rajeev

From Out-of-State

Erin Adelmeyer / Fond du Lac, Wis. / St Mary’s Springs High School / Mr. & Mrs. Richard &

Denise Adelmeyer

Hope Arnold / Baton Rouge, La. / St. Joseph’s Academy / Steven & Amy Arnold

Laura Braswell / Carmel, Ind. / Cathedral High School / Mr. & Mrs. Charles & Barbara Braswell

John Gaudet / Baton Rouge, La. / Episcopal High School / Michael Gaudet

Dominique Gill / Hyattsville, Md. / Suitland High School / Lystra Ready

Ann Graham / Jackson, Tenn. / University School of Jackson / Mr. & Mrs. Chris Graham

Jay Hogeboon / Fernandina Beach, Fla. / Fernandina Beach High School / Mr. & Mrs. Skip &

Eileen Hogeboon

Steven Howell / Jacksonville Beach, Fla. / Duncan V. Fletcher High School / David & Cynthia Ward

Jiawei Liu / Philadelphia, Pa. / William W. Bodine High School for International Affairs / Mr. Zhihua Liu & Mrs. Huifang Liu

Kenneth MacMurray / Hilton Head, S.C. / Hilton Head Island High School / Mr. & Mrs. Christopher MacMurray

Michelle Phillips / Wellington, Fla. / Palm Beach Central High School / Jacqueline Phillips & Bruce Wiener

Mark Rolfsen / Baton Rouge, La. / Catholic High School / Dr. & Mrs. Mike Rolfsen

Theresa Stratmann / Irmo, S.C. / Dutch Fork High School / Mr. Johannes Stratmann &

Mrs. Claudia Stratmann