2009 Ramsey Scholars announced

University of Georgia announces 2009 Ramsey Honors Scholars

Athens, Ga. – Six academically outstanding incoming first-year students at the University of Georgia have received 2009 Bernard Ramsey Honors Scholarships, one of the university’s premier academic awards.

The scholarships, created by the UGA Foundation trustees in 2000, are named in honor of the university’s most generous individual benefactor, Bernard Ramsey. A 1937 graduate of UGA’s Terry College of Business, Ramsey served as chairman of the board of Merrill Lynch for a number of years.

The award provides additional merit-based aid to the recipients as they pursue their degrees while enrolled in UGA’s academically rigorous Honors Program. In-state students receive an annual stipend of $4,500 along with the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students receive an annual $7,200 award and out-of-state tuition waivers. Students in the program also are each eligible for a $3,000 travel-study grant for additional educational opportunities such as study abroad or international public service programs related to the students’ academic and/or professional goals.

“The Ramsey Scholarship is a very prestigious and competitive award, and I am impressed and pleased by the students who will join us as new Ramseys this year,” said David S. Williams, director of UGA’s Honors Program. “I look forward to getting to know and work with them.”

Students in the program receive individual attention and support from a senior faculty mentor and a current Ramsey Scholar. They also enjoy all the academic and cultural opportunities the Honors Program has to offer. These activities include annual retreats, dinner seminars in the homes of faculty, and special meetings with distinguished visiting speakers.

The 2009 recipients have an average SAT score of 1522. Their average high school grade point average is 4.27 on a 4.0 scale, which indicates extra points for Advanced Placement classes. The students’ academic and extracurricular achievements also are impressive.

Students may renew the scholarships for an additional three years as long as they maintain a cumulative 3.5 grade point average and are in good standing with the Honors Program.

For more information on UGA’s Ramsey Honors Scholars program, see


The 2009 Ramsey Honors Scholars are:

Name / Hometown / High School / Parent(s)

From Georgia

Bibb County

Frank Logan Butler IV / Macon / Stratford Academy / Frank (III) & Patricia Butler

Gwinnett County

Glenn Ryan Branscomb / Lilburn / Parkview High School / John & Lisette Branscomb

Yiran Peng / Lilburn / Parkview High School / Zhiping Peng & Yuhuan Wang

Lee County

Trevor Hunter Hohorst / Leesburg / Lee County High School / William & Lisa Hohorst

From Out-of-State

Camille Parker Gregory / Brentwood, Tenn. / Brentwood High School / Robert & Martha Gregory

Alexander Collins Vey / Hixson, Tenn. / McCallie School / Glen & Shelley Vey