Campus News Society & Culture

UGA names 2013-2014 Study in a Second Discipline Fellows

Athens, Ga. – Six University of Georgia faculty members will spend the next academic year expanding their range of expertise as 2013-2014 Study in a Second Discipline Fellows.

“Some of the most notable research and scholarship occurs at the interface of fields, and the Study in the Second Discipline program is one of the many ways that the university encourages interdisciplinary research,” said Provost Jere Morehead. “I commend the recipients of this fellowship for undertaking projects that will advance their fields and have the potential to foster long-term collaborations on campus.”

The 2013-2014 Study in a Second Discipline Fellows, all of whom are faculty in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, are:
Benjamin Ehlers, associate professor of history, who will study in the geography department to gain proficiency in data mapping and further his research into patterns of religious violence in the Spanish Mediterranean;
Chad Howe, associate professor of romance languages, who will study in the department of statistics with the goal of applying advanced quantitative techniques to the study of language variation;
Amy Ross, associate professor of geography, who will study in the departments of philosophy and military science to advance her research on civilian casualties and lay the foundation for a new course on “The Geographies of Conflict;”
Janice Simon, Meigs Professor of Art History, who will study Native American culture in the anthropology department to broaden the scope of her research on landscape images as well as her courses on American art;
Robert Varley, professor of mathematics, who will study in the physics department to enhance collaborative research on particle physics and quantum field theory; and
Andrew Zawacki, associate professor of English, who will study photography in the Lamar Dodd School of Art and incorporate the technical and theoretical knowledge he gains into an upcoming book of poetry.

Study in a Second Discipline Fellowships are awarded on a competitive basis and open to tenured faculty members who have established a record of scholarly or creative activity within their base discipline. The application deadline for the 2014-2015 Fellowship is Dec. 4. To learn more about the program, see