Campus News

2015 First-Year Odyssey Teaching Awards

Robert Beckstead

Six UGA faculty were honored with 2015 First-Year Odyssey Teaching Awards at a reception April 1. Award recipients and their seminar titles are:

• Robert Beckstead, an associate professor of poultry science and undergraduate coordinator, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, “Chickenology: Everything You Need to Know About Chickens”;

• Janet Frick, an associate professor of psychology, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, “Humans and Animals in Society;”

• Lisa Fusillo, a professor of dance, Franklin College, “Creating Magic: Inside the Creative Process”;

• Stephanie Jones, a professor of educational theory and practice, College of Education, “Working-Class Matters”;

• L. Stephen Miller, a professor of psychology, Franklin College, “Psychology of Aging”; and

• Brock Tessman, an associate professor of international affairs, School of Public and International Affairs, “Games Nations Play: Strategy in International Relations.”

This was the second annual First-Year Odyssey awards reception to recognize outstanding instructors who have demonstrated innovation in teaching, connection of seminar content to the instructor’s research and how program goals are incorporated into the seminar.