Campus News

2018 Capturing Science winners announced

Last fall, UGA Libraries and the Office of Research sponsored the Capturing Science Contest.

The contest, now in its second year, challenged UGA students to communicate STEM concepts using any media or genre. Thirty-six submissions covered STEM concepts in a variety of disciplines. Students submitted games, videos, poetry, art, illustrations, photography, interactive activities and displays, educational guides, a podcast and other media. Entries were evaluated by judges Ariel Ackerly, Kelsey Forester, Lindsey Reynolds and Mazie Bowen for clarity of expression, creativity and appeal to a broad audience.  

The winners of the 2018 Capturing Science Contest have been chosen.

In the graduate student category, the first-place prize of $500 was awarded to Tong Li for the video submission titled “Quantum Teleportation and Magic.” Cassidy Lord won second place and $250 for the educational guide titled “Where’s My Creek?” Kathryn Koopman was awarded the third-place prize of $100 for the video art piece titled “gamma rhythm.”

In the undergraduate student category, Ben Burgh received the first-place prize of $500 for his submission “N3TW0RK: An Analog Game of Digital Communication.” Kayla McElreath’s video “The Urban Heat Effect & Climate Change” was awarded the second-place prize of $250. There was a tie for third place: Kelly Mayes for her podcast “All That Crawl: An Arthropod-cast” and Jenna Scott for her submission “Reabsorption: A Board Game for Life.” They each received $100. Daniela Murcia received an honorable mention in the undergraduate category for her game “March to Andersonville Prison: STEM Edition.”

Visit to view the winning entries along with commentaries from the judges explaining why they believe the winners captured the spirit of the contest. The winning entries and all other submissions can be browsed by subject and media/genre on the website. 

“I want to extend my thanks to the UGA Libraries administration and the Office of Research for their financial support,” said Chandler Christoffel, instruction and research librarian for the Science Library. “And special thanks to our contest judges, who also wrote the commentaries about our winning entries.”