Campus News

Academic professional, microbiology professor will receive advising award

Katie D. Hein, an academic professional in the College of Public Health, and Timothy R. Hoover, a faculty member in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, will receive UGA’s 2007 Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Adviser Award.

Presented each spring, the award recognizes faculty and staff for excellence in advising undergraduate students on selection of classes and course of study, assisting them with academic problems and providing guidance on related matters, including decisions about graduate school and careers.

Hein, who works in the department of health promotion and behavior, has been an academic adviser for undergraduates majoring in health promotion for 14 years. She advises every undergraduate in the department, about 130 students each semester. Hein holds bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in health education from UGA.

Hoover, associate professor and associate head of the department of microbiology, won the award for a tenured or tenure-track faculty member. He advises about 60 students each term and serves as the undergraduate coordinator for the department.

In addition to Hein and Hoover, the selection committee chose one adviser to receive a Certificate of Recognition. The recipient is Sharon Shannon of the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.