Business & Economy Campus News

UGA names new alumni president, board members

Yvette K. Daniels poses for a portrait in front of columns.
Yvette K. Daniels of Stone Mountain is the director of university relations for the Georgia Department of Public Health. She graduated from UGA in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in political science and earned a law degree in 1989. (Photo credit: Edwin Hammond)

Yvette K. Daniels is the 77th president of the UGA Alumni Association

The University of Georgia Alumni Association Board of Directors has elected its 77th president, Yvette K. Daniels, and approved eight new board members. Their terms began July 1.

Daniels has been on the board since 2015 and succeeds Brian Dill, whose two-year term concluded June 30. Her passion for policy, mentorship and relationship-building has guided her career. She spent six years as an assistant state attorney in Florida, and then joined the Georgia Department of Public Health where she has held lobbying and director positions. Today, she is the director of university relations for the Georgia Department of Public Health.

“Yvette is a valued leader among this group of passionate alumni,” said Meredith Gurley Johnson, executive director of alumni relations. “She embodies the spirit of UGA, is committed to the UGA community and goes above and beyond to serve our university.”

The Atlanta native graduated from the University of Georgia in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in political science and in 1989 with a law degree. She resides in Stone Mountain with her husband, Frederick L. Daniels Jr. The couple has two daughters: Kasey is a second-year student at UGA, and Kinsey is a senior at Arizona State University. Daniels will be the first Black female president of the UGA Alumni Association.

Alumni joining the board on July 1 are:

Charlene Johnson Benn, director of operations and technology strategy, Fiserv; Suwanee
Ericka Brown Davis, chief communications officer, State Road and Tollway Authority and Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority; College Park
Deretta Rhodes, EVP/chief people capital officer, Atlanta Braves; Atlanta
Paton Faletti, president and CEO, NCM Associates; Atlanta
Ashley M. Horne, chief marketing officer, Womble Bond Dickinson (U.S.); Atlanta
Adam C. Johnson, director, Jabian Consulting; Atlanta
Christian Robinson, executive director, JP Morgan Chase & Co.; Charlotte, North Carolina
Marisa “Marsay” Simpson, director of legislative and governmental affairs, Atlanta Gas Light; Greensboro

The executive board members who will serve alongside Daniels are:

Lee Zell, vice president, account executive, Turner Sports; Atlanta
Bobb Watts, secretary, associate, Jones Day; Atlanta
Dominique Holloman, nominating committee chair, government affairs manager, Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority; Atlanta
Stephanie Powell, student engagement committee chair, director of internal affairs, Joe Powell and Associates Inc.; Cumming
Corey Dortch, affinity committee chair, associate dean, Evening MBA Program, Emory University Goizueta Business School; Mableton
Cheri Leavy, events committee chair, editor/creative director/founder, guide2athens/Bulldog Illustrated/The Southern Coterie; St. Simons Island
Todd Phinney, chapters committee chair, business consultant-field operations, Chick-fil-A Inc.; Bishop

The UGA Alumni Association Board of Directors works closely with UGA’s alumni relations staff to promote, support and advance the programs and services that are offered to nearly 340,000 living alumni around the world.

“These new board members represent an array of diverse perspectives and alumni experiences at the University of Georgia,” said Johnson. “Their dedication to leadership and service are invaluable in engaging alumni and inspiring Bulldogs year-round, worldwide and lifelong.”

Board members concluding their terms on the board are:

Bill Caldwell, Smyrna
Jody Corry, Watkinsville
April Crow, Atlanta
Shelly Hutchinson, Snellville
Lex Kenerly, Jesup
Luther Lockwood, Charlotte, North Carolina
Bonney Shuman, St. Simons Island

To view the full list of UGA Alumni Association Board of Directors, visit