Campus News

Blue Key awards banquet recognizes 2022 award recipients, initiates

Awardees and initiates were recognized at the university’s annual Tucker Dorsey Blue Key Alumni Banquet on Oct. 14 at the University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel.

The 2022 Blue Key Service Award was presented to D. Paul Chambers Jr., retired AT&T North Georgia regional director of external affairs; Yvette K. Daniels, deputy director of workforce management at the Georgia Department of Public Health and president of the UGA Alumni Association; and Judge William M. Ray II, United States District Court judge for the Northern District of Georgia.

From left, D. Paul Chambers Jr., Yvette K. Daniels and William M. Ray II received the 2022 Blue Key Service Award. (Submitted photos)

Jennifer Frum (Submitted photo)

Jennifer L. Frum was awarded the 2022 Faculty Blue Key Service Award. Frum serves as UGA’s vice president for public service and outreach, the first woman in this role.

“All of the individuals receiving Blue Key Service Awards tonight have brought significant distinction to the university,” said UGA President Jere W. Morehead. “They have amassed an impressive record of professional accomplishments while maintaining their deep commitment to the institution.”

Grant R. Thomas (Submitted photo)

The 2022 Blue Key Young Alumnus award was presented to Grant R. Thomas, director of Gov. Brian Kemp’s Office of Health Strategy and Coordination. Thomas served as director of state relations for UGA from 2019 to 2021.

The Tucker Dorsey Memorial Scholarship recipients included Callie Dickinson, a graduate student in comparative biomedical science in the College of Veterinary Medicine, and Eric Okanume, a fourth-year biological sciences major in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

The Russell Student Leadership Award was presented to Mikaela Dallas, a fourth-year parks, recreation, and tourism management major in the Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources, and Joshua Gregory, a fourth-year double-major in finance from the Terry College of Business and political science from the School of Public and International Affairs.

The AT&T Student Leadership award was given to Abigail Doorley and Aldolfo Martinez. Doorley is a fourth-year student in the College of Public Health studying health promotion. Martinez is a landscape architecture graduate student in the College of Environment and Design.

The 75 Blue Key initiates for 2022-2023 also were recognized during the banquet.

The Blue Key Honor Society is a national organization whose members are committed to leadership in student life, high scholastic achievement, service to others and citizenship. Established in 1924 at the University of Florida, the organization’s third chapter was established at the University of Georgia in 1926.