Campus News

Candlelight memorial service to be held

Twenty-seven UGA students, faculty and staff members who died since last April will be honored at the university’s annual candlelight memorial service May 3 at 7 p.m. on the steps of the Chapel.

UGA President Jere W. Morehead will lead the service, called “Georgia Remembers … a Candlelight Memorial.”

Students whose names will be read, along with their hometowns and the areas of study they were pursuing, are:
• Emmanuel Agyei Agyemang, a third-year student from Savannah majoring in chemistry;
• Khaled Mohamad Alsafadi, a fourth-year student from Suwanee majoring in psychology;
• Kayla Leigh Canedo, a second-year student from Alpharetta majoring in psychology;
• John Michael Eden, a third-year student from Winder majoring in computer science;
• Brittany Katherine Feldman, a second-year student from Alpharetta majoring in human development and family science;
• Allison Thomas Johnson, a fourth-year student from Jonesboro majoring in English;
• Harrison Austin Jones, a fourth-year student from Columbus majoring in biochemistry and molecular biology;
• Jonathan Gray Kicklighter, a first-year student from Colquitt majoring in chemistry;
• Samantha Kaye Pohl, a master’s student from Halletsville, Texas, studying avian medicine;
• Caroline Daniel Ramsey, a doctoral student from Athens studying English;
• Halle Grace Scott, a third-year student from Dunwoody majoring in marketing;
• Cara McKim Seckman, a first-year student from Marietta majoring in advertising and public relations;
• Christina Devon Semeria, a second-year student from Milton majoring in exercise and sports science;
• John Kyle Spencer, a master’s student from Columbus studying conservation ecology and sustainable development; and
• Lei Wang, a doctoral student from Beijing, China, studying infectious diseases.

Faculty and staff whose names will be read, along with the positions they held, are:
• Robert John Antonelli, information technology director with the Skidaway Institute of
• Robert Andrew Bahn, research professional in forestry and natural resources;
• Debra Inglett Belvin, administrative associate in agricultural and applied economics, Griffin campus;
• Glenn Roger Clements, fire safety inspector in the Environmental Safety Division;
• Kevin Blair Garrison, project manager in the Office of the Vice President for Research;
• Joseph Ernest Lowe IV,
constituent-based director in the College of Pharmacy;
• Jacqueline Virginia Mitchell, administrative assistant in human resources;
• Charles Allen Nasworthy, director of the 4-H and Youth Center in Hampton;
• Patrick Theodore Nolan, carpenter in the Facilities Management Division;
• Desiree Andrea Hammond Oliver, research professional with the Center for Family Research; and
• Howard John Wiarda, professor in the School of Public and International Affairs.

In the event of rain, the service will be held in the Tate Student Center Grand Hall.