Campus News

Candlelight memorial service will be held for faculty, staff, students

Twenty-six University of Georgia faculty, staff and students who died since last April will be honored at the university’s annual candlelight memorial service April 29 at 7 p.m. on the steps of the Chapel.

UGA President Jere W. Morehead will lead the service, “Georgia Remembers … a Candlelight Memorial.” Names of each of the 13 students and 13 faculty and staff members will be read aloud, followed by a toll of the Chapel bell and the lighting of a candle.

Names will be read by Silvia Giruado, chair of the executive committee of University Council; Jerry Daniel, chair of the executive committee of the Staff Council; and Drew Jacoby, president of the Student Government Association. Members of the university’s Arch Society will light candles as each name is read. Franklin Scott, minister for Baptist Collegiate Ministries, will deliver an opening prayer and Renee Dubose, pastor for Our Hope Metropolitan Community Church, will deliver a closing prayer. The flames from the Arch Society members’ candles will be passed to attendees so they can light their own candles of remembrance. The Southern Wind Quintet will provide music, and the university’s Air Force ROTC will present the colors and ring the bell.

Faculty and staff whose names will be read are: Doug Bachtel, professor emeritus, department of financial planning, housing and consumer economics; W. Paul Cassilly, director of design and construction in the Office of University Architects; Ronald L. Claxton, research technician in the College of Engineering; Jonathan Liston, building services supervisor in the graduate studies; Jason Michael Manthorne, an instructor in the history department; Lucian Mitchell May, public service associate in UGA Extension; Jenny Penney Oliver, a faculty member in counseling and human development services within the College of Education; Glenn Owens, a programmer in the Office of the Vice President for Research; Bettye J. Pearson, building services worker in the Athletic Association; Bernard Richie, grounds keeper in facilities management; Norman Thomson, an associate professor of mathematics and science education; Margaret Sloan Collins Totty, an assistant director in the Disability Resource Center; and Yongchen Wang, an associate research scientist in the marine sciences department.

Students whose names will be read are: David Peacock Braun, a senior from Marietta majoring in computer science; Zachary Daniel Cowart, a graduate/professional student from Douglasville studying veterinary medicine; Rebecca Elaine Greene, a senior from Hortense majoring in chemistry; Yuzhi Hu, a graduate student from Changzhou, China, studying cellular biology; George Y. Kuei, a senior from Alpharetta majoring in psychology; Zachariah Jones McConnell, a graduate student from Dahlonega studying business administration; William “Will” O. Morriss, a freshman from Tucker majoring in marketing; Yong Kyu (Kevin) Nam, a senior from Suwanee majoring in Spanish; Alexi Julian “A.J.” Owens, a junior from Lawrenceville majoring in fisheries and wildlife; Dylan Cane Parker, a sophomore from Toccoa majoring in pre-business; Snizhana Radzetska, a doctoral student from Athens studying public administration; Brian David Riggenbach, a senior from Marietta majoring in chemistry; and Catherine Leigh Wilson, a junior from Atlanta majoring in anthropology.