Campus News

Chancellor’s Customer Service Recognition Award recipients announced Nov. 13

Several UGA employees, departments and programs received honors as part the inaugural Chancellor’s Customer Service Recognition Awards presented by University System of Georgia Chancellor Erroll B. Davis Jr. at the board of regents meeting Nov. 13.

The awards were given to individuals, teams and the institutions that demonstrated the most outstanding service to their customers throughout the last year. Their actions reflect all five of the state’s customer service qualities: knowledge, courteousness, helpfulness, accessibility and responsiveness.

UGA’s Tom Frieling, head of access services, and Claire Colombo, retired head of access services, were part of the University System of Georgia’s gold-winning team for Library Services—GIL Express, OIIT, the library’s online system. Michael Floyd, director of UGA’s nationally recognized food services, received an honorable mention for outstanding customer service leadership. Other finalists from UGA include the Georgia Center for Continuing Education Conference Center and Hotel, the 24-Hour Food Service for the Outstanding Customer Service Initiative Award and the New Dawg enrollment checklist team for Outstanding Customer Service Team Award.

More information about the Chancellor’s Customer Service Recognition Awards is available online (