Campus News

Chemistry professor wins regents’ teaching award

Charles Atwood

Charles H. Atwood, professor of chemistry in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, is one of five University System of Georgia faculty members to be named winners of the annual Board of Regents’ Teaching Excellence and Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Awards.

“Since his appointment as director of general chemistry more than a decade ago, Atwood has shown an uncommon devotion to instruction in freshmen chemistry,” the award citation said. “He developed JExam, an online homework and exam system, and has systematically researched its effectiveness as a teaching and learning tool. The results have been outstanding, demonstrating a significant effect on student learning and increasing student retention in the sciences.

“Atwood is a leader in working with other instructors to enhance the teaching of introductory chemistry at UGA, and the results have caught the attention of the national chemical education community.”

The board of regents’ awards program recognizes individual faculty members and academic programs. Recipients are selected from nominations submitted annually by the presidents within the university system. The awards honor outstanding teaching that significantly improves student achievement and shows a commitment to student-focused research and effective teaching. Each winner will receive $5,000 and a certificate of achievement.

“These awards allow us to recognize outstanding faculty in the university system of Georgia who are making a tremendous difference in the lives of our students,” said Susan Herbst, the university system’s executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer.

“I was fortunate to be hired at UGA at a time when my research interests-assessment and improvement of student learning-meshed with a resurgence of interest in student performance at the university,” said Atwood. “My selection for this award is due to the excellent support I have received from my department heads, Bob Scott and John Stickney, the chemistry department, Del Dunn and Jere Morehead and the PRISM project.”