Campus News

First Circle of Honor Gala to celebrate athletic, academic excellence

The inaugural Circle of Honor Gala celebrating athletic and academic excellence at UGA will be held April 13 in the Grand Ballroom of the Tate Student Center.

The social hour will start at 5:30 p.m., followed by the program at 6:30 p.m. The black tie-optional event is open to the public. Tickets are $150 each and can be ordered by calling 706-542-6792 or by

Former football player Billy Payne and swimmers Kristy Kowal and Courtney Shealy will be inducted into the Circle of Honor, which pays tribute to athletes and coaches who have brought dignity to the university and themselves and who have contributed to the UGA tradition.

In addition to the Circle of Honor inductions, several athletes and coaches will be recognized for awards they have received in the past year, including Jack Bauerle (Bill Hartman Award), Teresa Edwards (Naismith Hall of Fame and NCAA Silver Anniversary Award), Jake Scott (College Football Hall of Fame), Marcia Newby (Top VIII Award) and Marta Silva Zamora (Honda Award for women’s golf). Rankin Smith will be honored as the Circle of Distinction recipient.

Emcees for the gala are former athletes Matt Stinchcomb (football), Litterial Green (basketball), Courtney Kupets (gymnastics) and Maria Taylor (volleyball and basketball). 

The annual G-Day football scrimmage will be held April 14 at 3 p.m. at Sanford Stadium and attendees are asked to bring canned food for a canned food drive to benefit the Food Bank of Northeast Georgia. Bins will be set up at the Main Gate as well as gates 2, 4, 6 and 9 to accept the canned goods. Donation stations will also be in place for monetary contributions.