Campus News

Committee named for veterinary medicine dean search

A 19-member committee has been named to conduct a national search for the next dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine. Richard Porterfield, dean of the Warnell School of Forest Resources, is chair of the committee, which includes faculty, staff and students in the college and two college alumni.

Arnett C. Mace Jr., senior vice president for academic affairs and provost, appointed the committee to find a successor to Keith Prasse, who will retire Feb. 28. Prasse has been on the veterinary college faculty since 1972 and has been dean since 1996.

Sheila Allen, associate dean for academic affairs in the college, will serve as interim dean beginning March 1.

Faculty members on the committee in addition to Porterfield are Sandy Baldwin, director of the Tifton Diagnostic Laboratory; Scott Brown, physiology and pharmacology; Karen Cornell, small animal medicine; Sharon Crowell-Davis, anatomy and radiology; Doug Ensley, large animal medicine; John Fischer, wildlife disease study; John Glisson, avian medicine; Ray Kaplan, infectious diseases; Chris King, assistant vice president for research; Bruce LeRoy, pathology; Eric Mueller, large animal medicine; Ron Stewart, veterinary teaching hospital; and Ralph Tripp, infectious diseases, Complex Carbohydrate Research Center.

Other committee members are Glen Caldwell, laboratory coordinator in pathology; Natalie Norton, research lab coordinator in large animal medicine; Lindsay Boozer, a student; and alumni Gary Bullard of Powder Springs and Tim Montgomery of Dacula.

“This is a very key position at UGA, given the importance of veterinary medicine in Georgia and the increasing focus on global and infectious diseases as well as normal animal diseases,” says Mace, who hopes a new dean can be identified by July 1 and can begin work before the start of fall semester.