Campus News

Dean Emeritus Stuart Feldman honored for diversity efforts

Athens, Ga. – Dean Emeritus Stuart Feldman of the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy was honored during a Feb. 25 reception in conjunction with the university’s 50th anniversary of desegregation celebration. Feldman’s efforts to enhance and promote diversity within the college were honored.

Feldman was dean of the college from 1992 to 2000. In 1994, he hired the first African American faculty member, Marie Chisholm-Burns, and endorsed the formation of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association, an organization traditionally comprised of minority students.

In 2002, he established the Stuart Feldman Academic Support Fund to “foster and support activities that educate and inform students, faculty and staff of the importance and value of diversity within the College of Pharmacy, health care and the health professions.”

In 2010, the Feldman fund supported the establishment of the week-long Summer Science Academy for economically disadvantaged high school students who have a strong aptitude in math and science.In honor of his efforts the academy has been renamed the Dean Stuart Feldman Summer Science Institute.

Feldman is founding dean of the Touro College of Pharmacy in Harlem, which was established to meet the need for a diverse health care workforce in an under-served population. The first students were accepted in 2008.