Campus News

Search committee seeks dean for arts and sciences

Jere Morehead

Provost Jere Morehead has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position of dean of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.

“This is a critical position at the University of Georgia,” said Morehead. “As the university’s oldest and largest college, the Franklin College plays a central role in our teaching, research and public service programs.”

The college, named for Benjamin Franklin, dates to 1801 when the first UGA classes were offered. Departments in the college encompass the humanities, fine arts, social sciences, biological sciences and physical and mathematical sciences.

Thomas Lauth, dean of the School of Public and International Affairs, will chair the search committee that includes faculty from each of the college’s five divisions, plus additional staff, student and external representatives.

The committee members include Linda Bachman, Franklin College assistant dean for college relations; Steven Beach, Distinguished Research Professor of Psychology and director of the Institute for Behavioral Research; Jody Clay-Warner, Meigs Professor of Sociology; Judith Ortiz Cofer, Regents and Franklin Professor of English and Creative Writing; Michelle Garfield Cook, interim associate provost for institutional diversity and faculty affiliate in women’s studies and African-American studies; Tracie Costantino, associate professor, Lamar Dodd School of Art; Christine Franklin, senior lecturer, statistics; Patricia Grimes, Franklin College Dean’s Council; and Stephen Hajduk, professor and department head of biochemistry and molecular biology.

The committee also includes John Inscoe, University Professor and Albert W. Saye Professor of History; Austin Laufersweiler, Franklin College student government senator; Michael Lewis, IT specialist in geology; Rodney Mauricio, associate professor of genetics; Mary Ann Moran, Distinguished Research Professor of Marine Sciences; Dale Monson, professor and director of the Hugh Hodgson School of Music; Edward Panetta, associate professor of communication studies and director of debate; Gregory Robinson, Franklin Professor of Chemistry; Thiab Taha, professor of computer science; Frances Teague, University Professor and Meigs Professor, Theatre and Film Studies/English; and David Williams, Meigs Professor of Religion and director of the Honors Program.

The committee will be assisted by UGA’s Executive and Faculty Search Group.

Hugh Ruppersburg, senior associate dean of the Franklin College, has been serving as interim dean since August when Garnett Stokes, who was dean for seven years, left the university to take a position as provost and executive vice president for academic affairs at Florida State University.