Campus News

DRC recognizes 28 students, 1 faculty member at reception

When Alexa Lee was in high school she was diagnosed with lupus, a serious autoimmune disease in which the body’s immune system attacks healthy tissue. After undergoing chemotherapy, she was ready to shed the stigma of being constantly ill and start anew during her freshman year at the University of Georgia.

However, her health problems grew more complicated when she learned that the disease had affected her kidneys, and in her sophomore year she had to undergo a kidney transplant.

The cost for her medical care has taken a toll on her family’s finances. However, last month, Lee received a scholarship at the annual Disability Resource Center Student and Faculty Recognition Reception.

Lee was one of three students awarded the Lupuloff Family Scholarship, which is provided by UGA alumna Jan Lupuloff and her husband, Aaron. The other two Lupuloff scholarship recipients are Joseph Guyton and Anastasia Klosterman.

“I cannot thank the Lupuloff family enough for this scholarship,” said Lee. “This award has allowed me to continue my studies and relieve some of my family’s financial burden. I am extremely thankful to the Lupuloffs for allowing me to continue my educational pursuits.”

A total of 28 UGA students registered at the DRC received scholarships Oct. 24 at a reception in Grand Hall of the Tate Student Center.

During the program, each student had the opportunity to thank the scholarship donors and talk about their personal experiences.

The ceremony also honored Deanna Walters, an instructor and practicum coordinator in the College of Public Health’s health promotion and behavior department, who received this year’s Outstanding Faculty Award.

The DRC assists more than 1,500 UGA students a year, providing them with help navigating campus, extra time on tests, note-takers or anything else students might need to succeed.

“You all truly do make a difference on campus,” said Bill McDonald, UGA’s dean of students. “Your stories inspire us, but more importantly what you do every day inspires us.”

Other scholarship recipients were Shreya Visvanathan, Frances Dean, Liam McCabe, Hillary Rowell, Akash Shah, Carlie Horn, Anna Davidson, Nadia Hopkins, Ada Spratlin, Sean Tackett, Ansley Spears, Charnel Byrnes, Alan McDonald, Chang-Kyu Kwon, Taylor Bradish, Risa Matsumura, Hannah Ruby, Michael Veal, Tyus Williams, Lavette Leflore, Bradley Allen, Jade Maltese, Ashley Stone, Matthew Hukin and Matthew Lemer.