Campus News

Eight students named Ramsey Scholars

UGA has awarded eight Bernard Ramsey Honors Scholarships to high-performing students in the Class of 2020.

The eight scholarship recipients bring the current number of Ramsey Scholars on campus to 26. Listed with their high school, hometown and major, they are Evan Chandler Barnard, Johns Creek High School, Johns Creek, ecology; Sara Elizabeth Cagle, Morgan County High School, Madison, genetics; Benjamin Thomas Giebelhausen, Bennington Public High School, Bennington, Nebraska, biochemistry and molecular biology; Emma Danielle Hope, Cherry Creek High School, Englewood, Colorado, genetics; Sarah Aven Hartwell Jones, Collegiate School, Richmond, Virginia, art; Grant Harrison Mercer, Harrison High School, Marietta, biology and international affairs; Carl Thomas Miller III, Grovetown High School, Grovetown, computer science; and Benjamin Crawford Starks, Celebration High School, Celebration, Florida, international affairs.

Administered by the UGA Honors Program, the Ramsey Honors Scholars program was created by UGA Foundation trustees in 2000 and recognizes the university’s most generous individual benefactor to date, Bernard Ramsey, the former chairman of Merrill Lynch and a 1937 graduate of UGA’s Terry College of Business.