Campus News

Eleven seed grants awarded for outreach, service-learning projects

The Office of the Vice President for Public Service and Outreach has selected grant recipients for its 2006-2007 Scholarship of Engagement Grants to Enhance University Engagement.

This year 11 grants were awarded to academic and public service faculty members who plan to incorporate service-learning or other outreach activities into their teaching, research or other outreach endeavors.

The Scholarship of Engagement grants program was established in 2004 by Art Dunning, vice president for public service and outreach, to support outreach projects by UGA faculty members.

The program’s primary goals are to address expressed community needs, create collaborations across disciplines and university units and encourage development of service-learning projects for UGA students.

“We continue to encourage collaborations of public service faculty with academic and clinical faculty on outreach endeavors that address some of the pressing economic, education, health and social well-being needs of young people and adults living and working in Georgia,” Dunning said.

“A major goal of these grants is to involve UGA students in civic engagement activities that add a rigorous dimension to their academic experience,” he added.
The 2006-2007 grant recipients, their school, college or unit and the title of their projects, are:

• Alison Alexander (College of Journalism and Mass Communication): “Development of a Summer Learning-Loss Program with the Clarke County School District and the Athens-Clarke County Library”;
• Danny Bivins (Fanning Institute): “Project Riverway: A Multi-Disciplinary Service-Learning Experience”;
• Pratt Cassity (College of Environment and Design): “A Multi-Disciplinary, ­Service-Learning Project to Construct an Outdoor Classroom at the Classic City High School”;
• Amy Johnson, Deborah Tippins and Molly Lawrence (College of Education): “A Heart Full of Science: Building Community Health and Nutrition Literacy”;
• Corey Johnson and Edward Delgado-Romero (College of Education): “Safe Spaces: Creating a More Supportive Rehabilitation Environment for Gay, Transgendered and Questioning Youth”;
• Keely Jones (School of Public and International Affairs): “Building Nonprofit Capacity through Service-Learning in Public Administration”;
• Nancy Knapp (College of Education): “Investigating Reading Interventions with Hispanic/Latino Children in the Local School System”;
• Denise Logan and Kathleen McDermott (Georgia Center for Continuing Education): “Engaging At-Risk Youth: Academic Development through the Arts”;
• Lance Palmer, Joseph Goetz and Joan Koonce (College of Family and Consumer Sciences): “A Service-Learning Income Tax Assistance Partnership in Athens”;
 • Margaret Quesada and Sarah Blackwell (Franklin College of Arts and Sciences): “Toward the Development of Language Arts Skills among Spanish-Speaking ESOL Students at Clarke Central High School”; and
• Mary Ann Radlinsky (College of Veterinary Medicine): “The Pet First-aid Course.”