Campus News

University creates two committees to examine emergency preparedness

University administrators have formed two committees to recommend ways UGA can prevent or—if necessary—manage emergencies or situations that may threaten the safety of students, faculty and staff.

President Michael F. Adams announced last month that the committees would be formed as a response to the April 16 shootings at Virginia Tech. Adams said the committees will examine UGA “plans, protocols, procedures and infrastructure” as they relate to emergency preparedness and to psychological services on campus.

Adams assigned Tim Burgess, senior vice president for finance and administration, to put together the committee on emergency preparedness and Provost Arnett C. Mace Jr. to form the committee on psychological services.

Both committees include representatives of faculty, staff, students and administration as well parents of three students.  The committees will meet over the summer and present reports with recommendations by Sept. 1.

The University System of Georgia has been working since last fall to develop a plan for handling emergencies that will apply to all schools in the system, and UGA’s plan will be part of the system-wide effort.

Kathy Pharr, assistant vice president for finance and administration, will chair the Emergency Preparedness and Communications Committee.  Members of the committee are: Greg Ashley, senior associate chief information officer; English Ball, a member of the UGA Parents and Families Association; Steve Bell, director of the broadcast, video and photography unit in the Office of Public Affairs and general manager of campus radio station WUGA; Josef Broder, associate dean for academic affairs in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Rick Gibson, director of residence hall education and services in University Housing; Jamarl Glenn, a junior from Kingsland and member of the Arch Society; Opal Haley, director of security and emergency preparedness; Stuart Ivy, information and technology manager in the College of Veterinary Medicine and vice president of the Staff Council; Ralph Johnson, associate vice president for the physical plant; parent Gayla Nickerson; Bobby Snipes, deputy manager of the Athens-Clarke County Unified Government; and Jimmy ­Williamson, UGA police chief.

The chair of the Committee on Evaluation of Psychological Services is Lonnie Brown, associate professor of law. Committee members are: Beth Bailey, associate director of the Office of Legal Affairs; Alan Campbell, associate dean of student affairs; Clayton Cox, a junior from Marietta and treasurer of the Student Government Association; Linda Dudley, a student affairs professional in the School of Law; Gayle Robbins director of counseling and psychiatric services in the University Health Center; Ralphel Smith, assistant director of University Housing; V. Gayle Spears, an academic professional in College of Education’s counseling and human development department;  Elaine Weeks, director of criminal justice studies;  Jeffrey Yates, associate professor of political science; and Andrea Young, a member of the UGA Parents and Families ­Association.