Campus News

Engineering college names new associate dean for student success, outreach

Stephan Durham

Stephan Durham, an associate professor of civil engineering, has been appointed to the new position of assistant dean for student success and outreach for the College of Engineering.

“Dr. Durham has been an excellent instructor, scholar and colleague, and our college and its students will benefit greatly from his leadership and vision,” said Donald J. Leo, dean of the engineering college. “Dr. Durham is passionate about enhancing the engineering student experience at UGA and has had tremendous success with our civil engineering program.”

In his new role, Durham will develop and execute professional development activities for undergraduate and graduate students; coordinate nominations and student applications for fellowships, scholarships and travel awards; lead the college’s student ambassador program; and support and coordinate student club activities.

Durham also will work to enhance the college’s internship and cooperative education programs by strengthening relations between the college and its partners in business and industry.

“My passion is teaching and helping young people grow into successful engineers,” said Durham, who will continue teaching civil engineering courses.

Durham joined the engineering faculty as an associate professor and program coordinator for civil engineering in 2012. In this position, he helped develop the college’s new undergraduate degree program in civil engineering. Durham earned his doctorate in civil engineering with a structural engineering emphasis from the University of Arkansas.

Durham has received a number of accolades for this work, including the 2016 UGA College of Engineering Award for Excellence in Instruction and the 2015 American Society of Civil Engineers Georgia Section President’s Award. The Georgia Engineering Alliance named Durham its 2013 Georgia Engineer of the Year in Education. He received the University of Arkansas College of Engineering Outstanding Young Alumni Award in 2012.