Campus News

Five finalists named for music school directorship

Five finalists have been named for the directorship of the Hugh Hodgson School of Music in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.

“We are delighted with the high quality of all theses candidates,” said Garnett S. Stokes, dean of the Franklin College. “We believe any would be a worthy successor to Don Lowe, the long-time director of the Hodgson School.”

Finalists are: Ben Arnold, director and professor of the University of Kentucky School of  Music; Sara Lynn Baird, interim dean of the College of Music and Dramatic Arts at Louisiana State University; Laurence Kaptain, dean and professor at Shenandoah Conservatory in Winchester, Va.; Dale Monson, director and professor of the School of Music at Brigham Young University; and Steven Moser, senior associate dean and professor of music of the College of Arts and Letters at the University of Southern Mississippi.

Baird, who visited campus Nov. 10-11, holds a bachelor’s degree from Florida State University, a master’s from the College Conservatory of Music at the University of Cincinnati and a Ph.D. from FSU. Kaptain, who visited campus Nov. 12-13, received his bachelor’s from Ball State University, his master’s from the University of Miami and his doctoral degree from the University of Michigan. Arnold, who will be on campus Nov. 17-18, received his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees all from the University of Kentucky. Monson, who will visit UGA Nov. 18-20, earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Brigham Young University and a Ph.D. from Columbia University. Moser, who will be here Dec. 1-2, earned his bachelor’s from the University of Mississippi, his master’s from Texas Christian and his doctoral degree from the University of Southern Mississippi.