Campus News

Five incoming freshmen named UGA Ramsey Honors Scholars

Athens, Ga. – Five incoming freshmen have been selected to receive the Bernard Ramsey Honors Scholarship, one of the University of Georgia’s premier academic awards.

The scholarship, created by the UGA Foundation trustees in 2000, is named in honor of the university’s most generous individual benefactor, Bernard Ramsey. A 1937 graduate of the UGA Terry College of Business, Ramsey served as chairman of the board of Merrill Lynch for a number of years.

The new group of Ramsey Honors Scholars will enroll in UGA’s academically rigorous Honors Program, which recently celebrated its 50th anniversary. They will be able to take advantage of a variety of academic enrichment opportunities, including study abroad, undergraduate research, and peer and faculty mentoring programs.

“It is a pleasure to welcome the new Ramsey Scholars,” said David S. Williams, associate provost and director of UGA’s Honors Program. “They not only have impressive academic strengths, but also an array of talents. We look forward to working with them.”

In-state students receive an annual stipend of $4,500 and the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students receive an annual stipend of $7,700 and out-of-state tuition waivers. Second- and third-year students in the program also are eligible for $3,000 academic travel-study grants.

The average SAT score for the incoming class is 1560 and the average ACT score is 34. Their high school grade point average is 4.15 on a 4.0 scale, which indicates extra points for Advanced Placement classes. The Ramsey Scholars also have impressive high school academic and extracurricular credentials.

The scholarship is renewable for an additional three years of academic study as long as recipients maintain cumulative 3.5 grade point averages and are in good standing with the Honors Program. The new group will bring the current number of Ramsey Scholars to 26.

For more information on UGA’s Ramsey Honors Scholars program, see

The 2011 Ramsey Scholars are:

Name / Hometown / High School / Parent(s) / Photo URL

From Georgia

Clarke County

Carmen Orpinas Kraus / Athens / Cedar Shoals High School / Richard Kraus and Pamela Orpinas

Cowetta County

Abigail Taylor Shell / Sharpsburg / East Coweta High School / Brian and Christi Shell

Douglas County

Tuan Anh Nguyen / Douglasville / Douglas County High School / Van Minh Nguyen and Ha Trinh

Forsyth County

Cody James Baetz / Cumming / South Forsyth High School / Bruce and Julie Baetz

From Out-of-State

Allison Nicole Koch / Cedar Rapids, Iowa / John F. Kennedy Senior High School / Dave and Jill Koch