Campus News

Five incoming freshmen named Ramsey Scholars

Five incoming freshmen have been selected to receive the Bernard Ramsey Honors Scholarship, one of UGA’s premier academic awards.

The scholarship, created by the UGA Foundation trustees in 2000, is named in honor of the university’s most generous individual benefactor, the late Bernard Ramsey. A 1937 graduate of the Terry College of Business, Ramsey served for several years as chairman of the board of Merrill Lynch.

The 2011 Ramsey Scholars are Carmen Orpinas Kraus, Athens; Abigail Taylor Shell, Sharpsburg; Tuan Anh Nguyen, Douglasville; Cody James Baetz, Cumming; and Allison Nicole Koch, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

The new Ramsey Scholars will enroll in the Honors Program, which recently celebrated its 50th anniversary. They will be able to take advantage of a variety of academic enrichment opportunities, including study abroad, undergraduate research, and peer and faculty mentoring programs.

“It is a pleasure to welcome the new Ramsey Scholars,” said David S. Williams, associate provost and director of the Honors Program. “They not only have impressive academic strengths, but also an array of talents. We look forward to working with them.”