Campus News

Four join Peabody Awards board

Peabody has appointed Lorraine Ali, Karen Hall, Wonya Lucas and Anne Sweeney to its board of jurors, which each year evaluates and bestows the Peabody Awards for excellence in television, radio and digital media. The program is based in UGA’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Ali is a television critic with The Los Angeles Times where she covers media, culture and American Muslim issues. Ali is an award-winning journalist who, before joining the Times in 2011, was a culture writer and music critic with Newsweek and a senior critic with Rolling Stone.

Hall is a veteran television writer, producer and creative consultant. She has worked on ­numerous series including Peabody Award-winners M*A*S*H, Hill Street Blues, Roseanne and The Good Wife. She has received seven Emmy Award nominations as well as the Humanitas Prize, the Women in Film Luminas Award and the Writers Guild of America Award.

Lucas is president and CEO of Public Broadcasting Atlanta, where she oversees the city’s NPR (WABE) and PBS (ATL PBS) stations and three digital properties. Under her leadership, WABE has seen a significant increase in award-winning local coverage and community engagement, as well as the launch of two national podcasts.

Sweeney is a member of the board of ­directors at Netflix, the board of trustees at the Mayo Clinic and a Dean’s Distinguished Fellow at the Harvard University Graduate School of ­Education.