Campus News

Fourteen freshmen named Coca-Cola First Generation Scholars

Fourteen incoming freshmen have been selected to receive the Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year.

The scholarship, funded by the Coca-Cola Foundation since 2007, supports academically outstanding students who are the first in their families to attend college. Recipients must demonstrate financial need to be eligible. The scholarship provides $5,000 per year in addition to the HOPE Scholarship.

The award is renewable for an additional three years if the recipients maintain certain academic standards.

The 2010 Coca-Cola First Generation Scholars and their hometowns are: Manuel Coutinho, John’s Creek; Gabriel Cunningham, Duluth; Hailey Drake, Flowery Branch; Carla Garcia, Forest Park; Douglas Hernandez, Norcross; Malena Lopez, Rentz; Dan J. Myung, Duluth; Shannel Pak, John’s Creek; John Hyunwoo Park, Duluth; Jessica Parker, Rincon; Erica Pena, Lawrenceville; Stephanie Romero, Suwanee; Matias José Romero III, Ellijay; and Sarah Sanders, Richland.