Campus News

22 incoming freshmen named Foundation Fellows for 2007

The university has awarded the prestigious Foundation Fellowship to 22 incoming freshmen who exemplify the qualities of outstanding future leaders and scholars.

The Foundation Fellowships, UGA’s premier undergraduate scholarship, provide in-state students an annual stipend of $9,000 in addition to the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students will receive $14,500 in annual scholarships and tuition waivers.

“The Foundation Fellowship is increasingly recognized as one of the top scholarship programs in the country, and these students will no doubt add to the prestige of the program,” said David S. Williams, director of UGA’s Honors Program. “They are all very impressive, and we look forward to welcoming them to campus this fall.”

The award also includes opportunities to participate in international travel-study, research conferences, internships and public service projects. Previous students have used such opportunities to study, conduct research and do public service in China, England (Oxford), Germany, India, Peru, Tanzania, Thailand and many other countries.

Each entering Fellow will receive individual attention and support from a senior faculty mentor and a current Foundation Fellow. During the academic year, Foundation Fellows participate in academic and cultural events such as dinner seminars in the homes of faculty and special meetings with distinguished visiting speakers.

Selection for the Foundation Fellowship is a highly coveted honor. The average SAT score for the class of 2011 is 1538. The average grade point average is 4.21 on a 4.0 scale, which indicates extra points for advanced placement courses. Their high school academic and extracurricular records are similarly remarkable.

The 2007 Foundation Fellows and their hometowns are: Stephanie Chapman, Decatur; Katie Cuadrado, Atlanta; Kelsey Ditto, Austin, Texas; Ryan Friday,  Austin, Texas; Lucy Fu, Athens; Geales Goodwin, Alpharetta; Inaam Inaamullah, Marietta; Anne Karam, Baton Rouge, La.; Matthew Levenson, Wantagh, N.Y.; Phoeny Li, Cleveland; John Marshall, Statesboro; Aaron Marshburn, Davidson, N.C.; Calley Mersmann, Snellville; Phillip Mote, Marietta; Rachel Pocock, Atlanta; Sabrina Ragaller, Henderson, Nev.; Bobby Rosenbleeth, Sandy Springs; Trey Sinyard, Athens; Alex Squires, Richmond Hill; Claire Underwood, Marietta; Tracy Yang, Macon; and Sheena Zhang, Athens.