Campus News

UGA recognized for its support of the Harry Truman Scholarship Program

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation, which awards the prestigious Truman Scholarship to college students preparing for careers in public service, has recognized the University of Georgia for its support of the Truman program.

UGA is one of four universities designated by the foundation as Truman Foundation Honor Institutions. Madeleine Albright, foundation president and former U.S. secretary of state, chose UGA to receive the award along with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Emory University and American University.

The Truman scholarship provides up to $30,000 for graduate study for undergraduates who want to be “change agents” through public service careers in nonprofit organizations, government agencies or educational institutions.

The Truman Foundation Honor Institution designation recognizes schools that encourage students to pursue public service careers and promote the Truman program on their campuses, and whose students have a sustained record of success in winning scholarships.

UGA has had a total of 14 Truman Scholars including four in the past five years. This year, Deep Shah, a junior majoring in international affairs and genetics, received the scholarship.

Frederick Slabach, executive secretary of the foundation, attended UGA’s Honors Day program last month to present the award to President Michael F. Adams and Del Dunn, former vice president for instruction and the campus Truman faculty representative until his retirement last year. David Williams, director of the Honors Program, succeeded Dunn as UGA’s Truman representative.