Honors and awards

Excellence in teaching and creative research took center stage when University of Georgia Faculty members were recognized for outstanding contributions to the academy, in mid April.

Richard B. Russell Awards

Three UGA faculty members received Richard B. Russell Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching at the 2012 Faculty Recognition Banquet at the Georgia Center on April 16. Russell Awards recognize outstanding teaching by faculty in their first decade of teaching. Winners receive $5,000. The Richard B. Russell Foundation in Atlanta supports the program.

Complete story in Columns

Creative Research Awards

The Creative Research Awards recognize outstanding bodies of work that have gained broad recognition. They were presented April 19 at the Georgia Center.

Complete story in Columns

Josiah Meigs Teaching Professors

Four faculty members were named Josiah Meigs Teaching Professors April 16 at the Faculty Recognition Banquet. The professorship recognizes excellence in instruction at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Meigs Professors receive a permanent salary increase of $6,000 and a fund of $1,000 for academic support.

Complete story in Columns