Campus News

Top students, teachers, advisers to be recognized at Honors Day ceremony

Peggy Brickman

UGA will hold its annual Honors Day program April 2 to recognize top student scholars, superior teachers and outstanding faculty advisers and mentors.

The program will be in Hugh Hodgson Hall in the Performing Arts Center beginning at 2 p.m. Undergraduate classes scheduled for sixth, seventh and eighth periods (1:25-4:25 p.m.) will be dismissed so students and faculty can attend the program.

Spaces in parking lot E11 will be reserved for program participants, but lots E04, E05, E06 and E07 will be open without charge for the ceremony.

The program will be televised live on UGA cable channel 15 and will be streamed live on the Internet.

Marguerite “Peggy” Brickman, an associate professor of plant biology who is an award-winning teacher and an authority on methods to improve teaching and learning, will be the Honors Day speaker.

Several hundred students will be recognized for academic excellence. They include 34 First Honor Graduates who have maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average, and students who rank in the top 5 percent of their schools and colleges.

Honors Day also recognizes faculty members who are receiving awards for teaching excellence, faculty and staff who are being recognized as outstanding advisers and mentors, and graduate students who are receiving awards for teaching.

Four faculty members will be presented as new Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professors, UGA’s highest recognition of superior instruction at the undergraduate and graduate levels. This year’s Meigs Professors are Christopher Allen, international affairs; James Coverdill, sociology; Catherine Jones, Romance languages; and Lynne Sallot, advertising and public relations.

Recipients of the Richard B. Russell Award, which recognizes junior faculty for outstanding teaching, also will be presented. They are Mitos Andaya, Hodgson School of Music; George Contini, theatre and film studies; and Patricia Richards, sociology and women’s studies.

In addition, two faculty who have been appointed to special professorships will be recognized. They are James Hamrick, plant biology, who has been named Regents Professor, and Peter Shedd, insurance, legal studies and real estate, who has been appointed University Professor.