Campus News

J. Marshall Shepherd, Science Advisory Board

Marshall Shepherd

J. Marshall Shepherd, the director of UGA’s atmospheric sciences program and professor of geography, will serve on the Science Advisory Board of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. He was appointed by Jane Lubchenco, the under secretary of commerce for oceans and atmosphere.

The science advisory board is the only federal advisory committee with the responsibility to advise the under secretary on strategies for research, education and application to operations and information services.