Campus News

Georgia Law dominates intrastate moot competition, finishes strong nationally

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia School of Law recently took home the top trophy and the Best Brief Award at the 2012 Intrastate Moot Court Competition.

The annual tournament has teams from all five of the state’s law schools competing against each other. This is the seventh consecutive year UGA has won this competition and the ninth straight year it has earned the best brief title.

The championship team consisted of second-year students Tyler A. Dillard, Nicholas H. Howell and Emir Sehic.

“I am so proud of our students for building on the school’s long tradition of excellence in this tournament,” Director of Advocacy Kellie Casey said. “It is great to be able to go head-to-head against other law schools in our state and come out victorious.”

Second-year students Amina Bakari, Kori E. Flake and Michael C. Gretchen also represented UGA in the competition and finished as semifinalists. Third-year law students Samuel H. Sabulis and Bailey A. Blair coached both teams.

On the national front, Georgia Law had strong showings in both the Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Moot Court Competition and the South Texas Mock Trial Challenge, finishing as semifinalists and quarterfinalists, respectively.

The Prince team consisted of second-year students Katie A. Croghan, Timothy F.J. Dean and Mary E. Martinez, while third-year students Andrei V. Ionescu, Samson C. Newsome, Eric L. Roden and brief writer Samuel H. Sabulis composed the Texas team.

Of the 40 teams competing in the Texas tournament, Georgia Law was awarded one of three outstanding brief awards, and Roden was named best advocate of the tournament.