Campus News

LeAnne Howe wins MLA Prize

LeAnne Howe, the Eidson Distinguished Professor in American Literature, received the inaugural MLA Prize for Studies in Native American Literatures, Cultures and Languages from the Modern Language Association of America. The award was presented to Howe, a faculty member in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences’ English department, for her book Choctalking on Other Realities, Jan. 10 at the organization’s annual meeting in Vancouver.

Established in 2014, the prize is awarded for an outstanding scholarly study of Native American literatures, cultures or languages, written by a member of the association.

The Modern Language Association of America and its 30,000 members in 100 countries work to strengthen the study and teaching of languages and literature. Founded in 1883, the MLA provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy.