Campus News

UGA professor named inaugural recipient of SEC Faculty Achievement Award

Loch Johnson

Athens, Ga. – Loch Johnson, a faculty member at the University of Georgia School of Public and International Affairs, has been named an inaugural winner of the Southeastern Conference Academic Consortium’s Faculty Achievement Award.

The award honors one professor from each SEC school with superlative records in both teaching and scholarship who serves as role models for other faculty members and students. To qualify, an individual’s scholarly contributions must be nationally or internationally recognized as outstanding.

Johnson is Regents Professor of Public and International Affairs and a Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor in SPIA.

“Loch Johnson is recognized as one of the University of Georgia’s most respected and honored professors,” said Jere Morehead, UGA’s senior vice president for academic affairs and provost. “He has demonstrated a passion for connecting with students as a teacher and mentor and still manages to find new and interesting ways to immerse himself into the life of the university. His track record of embracing ideas and moving initiatives forward from concept to reality is truly remarkable.”

The award comes with a $5,000 honorarium, and recipients become their institution’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. Both honors are the first of their kind in Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

“Loch Johnson is a Regents Professor because of his distinguished national and international reputation for high-impact research and a Meigs Professor because of his extraordinary ability in the classroom,” said SPIA Dean Thomas P. Lauth. “His teaching has influenced generations of University of Georgia students, and his research has influenced U.S. public policy in the field of national intelligence and security. This combination of excellence in teaching and research makes him a valued UGA faculty member and an ideal recipient of the inaugural SEC Faculty Achievement Award.”

Said Johnson: “The 12 universities that make up the SEC already are legendary for their prowess in athletic competition. This new award underscores the fact that these campuses also hold high standards in teaching, research and public service. I feel deeply honored to be one of the first recipients of this award.”

Chosen from among the 12 institutional finalists announced today, the SEC Professor of the Year Award will be presented in May at the annual SEC Spring Banquet in Destin, Fla. The winner will receive an additional $15,000 honorarium.

Established by the presidents and chancellors of the Southeastern Conference and administered by the SEC provosts, the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award recognize professors within the conference for their accomplishments, scholarly contributions and discoveries.