Campus News

Memorial service will be held April 28 for faculty, staff, students

2015 Campus memorial candle-h
Twenty-four University of Georgia students

Twenty-six UGA faculty, staff and students who died since last April will be honored at the university’s annual candlelight memorial service April 28 at 7 p.m. in the Chapel.

UGA President Jere W. Morehead will lead the service, “Georgia Remembers … a Candlelight Memorial.” Names of each of the 15 students and 11 faculty and staff members will be read aloud, followed by a toll of the Chapel bell and the lighting of a candle.

Names will be read by David Shipley, chair of the executive committee of University Council; Michael Lewis, chair of the executive committee of the Staff Council; and Johnelle Simpson, president of the Student Government Association.

Members of the university’s Arch Society will light candles as each name is read aloud. Adam Daniels, campus minister for the Georgia Christian Student Center, will deliver an opening prayer, and Paula Frances Price, campus minister with Greek InterVarsity, will deliver a closing prayer. At the conclusion of the ceremony, the flames from the Arch Society members’ candles will be passed to attendees so they can light their own candles of remembrance.

The Southern Wind Quintet from the Hugh Hodgson School of Music will provide music, and the university’s Army ROTC will present the colors and ring the bell.

Faculty and staff whose names will be read along with the positions they held are:

• Clifton A. Baile, a D.W. Brooks Distinguished Professor and the GRA Eminent Scholar in Biotechnology and director of the Obesity Initiative;
• Laura Joan Cliffe, an associate research scientist in biochemistry and molecular biology;
• Carolyn Dehring, an associate professor of insurance/legal studies and real estate;
• John Mitchell Gilmer, a research statistician in crop and soil sciences;
• James D. McCusker, a skilled trades worker for UGA Extension on Tybee Island;
• Mary Ellen Mount, an administrative specialist in the academic affairs office, Griffin campus;
• Melissa Pattman, a food service worker in Bolton Dining Commons;
• Mark D. Reuter, a building services worker in the Facilities Management Division;
• Paul VonRague Schleyer, a professor of chemistry;
• Gregory A. Trandel, an associate professor of economics; and
• Daniel Upton White, an assistant to the executive director in the Institute of Continuing Legal Education.

Students whose names will be read along with their hometowns and the areas of study they were pursuing are:

• Tanzila Alam, a freshman from Dhaka, Bangladesh, majoring in cellular biology;
• Bradford Taylor Caperton, a senior from Atlanta majoring in marketing;
• Philip Hayes Carpenter, a junior from Athens majoring in agribusiness, agricultural and applied economics;
• Min Seok Cho, a junior from Suwanee majoring in international affairs;
• Brianna Lyn Cochran, a junior from Marietta majoring in biology;
• Joseph Ian Davis, a senior from Atlanta majoring in risk management and insurance;
• Zaki Dostmohamed, a senior from Athens majoring in economics;
• Mikal “Miki” Ghirmazghi, a senior from Decatur majoring in health promotion;
• Shivali Gupta, an incoming freshman from Smyrna;
• Rachael Marie Hamil, a junior from Newnan majoring in psychology;
• Keri Blickenstaff Kinsel, a doctoral candidate from Winterville majoring in musicology;
• Michael Chesterpete McClary, a freshman from Decatur majoring in political science;
• Malcolm Lavelle Quillen, a graduate student from Bogalusa, Louisiana, majoring in foods and nutrition;
• Sina Shayegan, a first-year veterinary medicine student from Cumming; and
• Sean Edward Vollrath, a sophomore from Cumming majoring in pre-journalism/advertising.

The candlelight memorial service is coordinated by Student Support Services, a department within UGA Student Affairs.