Campus News

UGA President Morehead to serve on Committee of Research Intensive Public Universities

Athens, Ga. – University of Georgia President Jere W. Morehead will help lead a committee charged with developing a national agenda for public research intensive universities. The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities announced the creation of the Committee of Research Intensive Public Universities to advise the association on key initiatives and policies.

The committee will advise and help shape APLU’s efforts on research funding, indirect cost recovery, public access for publications, commercialization of technology and more.

“Without a doubt, the presidents and chancellors serving on this advisory committee will help shape APLU’s policy and programs on several key matters,” said APLU President Peter McPherson. “Public research universities are facing unique challenges and this committee will serve as an important voice and resource as we shape the future of public higher education.”

The committee will be composed of 14 presidents/chancellors who will serve staggered terms. Initial members have been equally divided between those with one-year and two-year terms so that all the terms do not end at the same time. All members will be eligible for an additional two-year term. The members and the length of their initial term are:

Gene Block, University of California, Los Angeles—chair (two years)
Phyllis Wise, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign—vice chair (two years)
Michael Crow, Arizona State University (one year)
Mitch Daniels, Purdue University (two years)
Carol Folt, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (one year)
Judy Genshaft, University of South Florida (two years)
Bernadette Gray-Little, University of Kansas (one year)
Wallace Loh, University of Maryland, College Park (two years)
Jere W. Morehead, University of Georgia (one year)
Harvey Perlman, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (two years)
William Powers, Jr., University of Texas at Austin (one year)
Teresa Sullivan, University of Virginia (two years)
Satish Tripathi, University at Buffalo, SUNY (one year)
Michael Young, University of Washington (two years)

The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities is a research, policy and advocacy organization representing 218 public research universities, land-grant institutions, state university systems, and related organizations. Founded in 1887, APLU is the nation’s oldest higher education association with member institutions in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and four U.S. territories. Annually, member campuses enroll more than 3.8 million undergraduates and 1.2 million graduate students, award more than 1 million degrees, employ nearly 1 million faculty and staff and conduct more than $37 billion in university-based research.