Campus News

National search begins for next SPIA dean

Provost Jere Morehead has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position of dean of UGA’s School of Public and International Affairs. Current dean Thomas Lauth intends to step down June 30. He has served as dean since the college’s creation in 2001 and came to UGA as a faculty member in the political science department in 1981.

Rebecca White, dean of the School of Law, will chair the search committee that includes SPIA faculty as well as staff, students and a member of the school’s board of visitors. 

“Having just celebrated the school’s 10th anniversary, Dean Lauth leaves behind a legacy of recruiting truly outstanding faculty and building nationally regarded degree programs,” Morehead said.

Members of the search committee are Charles Bullock, the Richard B. Russell Professor of Political Science and Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor; Markus Crepaz, department head and professor of international affairs; Belle Doss, an undergraduate majoring in international affairs; Susan Haire, associate professor of political science; Loch Johnson, Regents Professor of International Affairs and Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor; and William Keller, professor of international affairs and director of the Center for International Trade and Security.

Other members are John Maltese, department head and Albert Berry Saye Professor of Political Science; Keith Poole, the Philip H. Alston Jr. Distinguished Chair of Political Science; Hal Rainey, Alumni Foundation Distinguished Professor of Public Administration and Policy and doctoral program director; Elizabeth Sassler, a doctoral student in public administration and policy; Nancy Thompson, director of administration in the dean’s office; Vicky Wilkins, associate professor of public administration and policy; and Brian Williams, associate professor of public administration and policy. Cecil Phillips, a member of the school’s board of visitors, is representing external constituents on the committee. The committee will be assisted by the UGA Search Group in Human Resources.