Campus News

National search underway for next law school dean

Pamela Whitten, senior vice president for academic affairs and provost, has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position of dean of the School of Law.

Svein Øie, dean of the College of Pharmacy, will chair the search and screening committee, which includes faculty, staff, student and alumni representatives. Additional search committee members are Kathelen Amos, a 1982 Georgia Law graduate, chair of the School of Law Board of Visitors and president of the Aflac Foundation Inc.; Kent Barnett, assistant professor of law; Elizabeth Chamblee Burch, associate professor of law; Julie Carnes, a 1975 Georgia Law graduate and chief judge for the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia; Kellie Casey, director of advocacy for the School of Law; Dan Coenen, University Professor and holder of the Harmon W. Caldwell Chair in Constitutional Law;Andrea Dennis, associate professor of law; Evelyn French, class of 2015 Juris Doctor candidate; Erica Hashimoto, associate professor of law; Timothy Meyer, assistant professor of law; David Shipley, Georgia Athletic Association Professor in Law; and Greg Sowell, senior director of law school advancement and adjunct professor of law.

The committee will be assisted by the UGA Search Group in Human Resources.

Rebecca White, who has served as dean of the School of Law since 2003, plans to return to the faculty after 11 years of service as dean.