Campus News

Search begins for new internal auditing director

The university will begin a search for a new director of its Internal Auditing Division as current director Dale Wetzelberger announced his retirement—effective June 30—after 12 years of service to UGA.

UGA President Michael F. Adams has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position.

“Dale Wetzelberger has been a model leader in his role as director of internal auditing,” said Adams. “His strategy has been to work with all of us to ensure proper management and good stewardship of private and public monies. He will be sorely missed, and this committee will have a tall task to find a successor of his quality and demeanor. I wish them well.”

Chaired by Hugh Ruppersburg, interim dean of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences and professor of English, the search committee includes John Ayoob, assistant vice president for student affairs budget and administration; S. Elizabeth “Beth” Bailey, associate director for the Office of Legal Affairs; Mark C. Dawkins, associate dean for academic programs and associate professor in the Terry College of Business; Bonnie Joerschke, director of student financial aid; Holley W. Schramski, associate vice president and controller in finance and administration; and James E. “Jimmy” Williamson, chief of police for the UGA Police Department.

The UGA Internal Auditing Division, which consists of seven auditors including Wetzelberger, reviews financial documents. However, the unit’s primary job is to conduct physical audits. Its mission is to evaluate and improve the effectiveness of UGA’s risk management, internal control and governance processes.

Wetzelberger is a certified public accountant and a certified information system auditor. After starting his career in public accounting, he worked as a state auditor in Maryland. Before coming to UGA, he worked at two Maryland institutions of higher education: first as director of internal auditing at Bowie State University and then as assistant director of internal auditing at Johns Hopkins University.