Campus News

New OLLI officers, board members elected

Betty Jean Craige, the former director of UGA’s Willson Center for Humanities and Arts, became president of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at UGA on July 1. Craige, who also is professor emerita of comparative literature, succeeded Tom Kenyon in the position.

Other officers elected at OLLI’s annual meeting for the 2015-2016 term are Lee Albright, president-elect; Andy Horne, vice president; Cheryl Copeland, secretary; and Victor Gagliano, treasurer.

Newly elected board members include Gary Bertsch, Heidi Davison, Nancy Grayson, Ian Hardin and Clover Weller. Randall Abney, Sandy Clark, Joseph Harris, Richard Lynch, Jill Read (re-elected) and Les Shindelman are remaining as board members.

Also at the annual meeting, outgoing President Kenyon presented the Carol Fisher Award, which recognizes “long and significant contributions to the functioning of OLLI@UGA,” to Randall Abney, Dick Lynch and John Songster. Although all three have had numerous leadership roles over the years, Abney’s most recent position was marketing committee chair, Lynch was chairman of the long-range planning committee and Songster was treasurer.