Campus News

Nine UGA students named 2011-2012 Crane Scholars

Athens, Ga. – Nine University of Georgia students were awarded the William Moore Crane Leadership Scholarship for the 2011-2012 academic year.

The $1,000 award is available to third-year honors program students and is renewable for a fourth year of undergraduate study as long as a student maintains a 3.7 cumulative grade point average. Applicants must have a record of outstanding leadership in co-curricular activities and/or community, civic or religious organizations.

The recipients, their hometowns and majors are:

Agni Chandora, Snellville, biology and public health

Wells Ellenberg, St. Simons Island, political science and history

Heather Hatzenbuhler, Lawrenceville, economics and management and international affairs

Sara Intner, Atlanta, biology and psychology

Matthew Passarello, Marietta, economics

Shayna Pollock, Atlanta, environmental economics and management and political science

Malavika Rajeev, Tifton, ecology

Brianna Randall, Macon, marketing

Taylor Watts, Kennesaw, music education

The scholarship is named in memory of William “Bill” Crane, a 1921 cum laude graduate of UGA who was instrumental in founding the UGA Alumni Society, now known as the UGA Alumni Association. The award is jointly administered by the UGA Honors Program and the Center for Leadership and Service.

For more information, including biographies and photos of the recipients, see