Campus News

Nominations for Inclusive Community Award due May 31

Nominations for the Dawn D. Bennett Alexander Inclusive Community Award, a new recognition for faculty funded by UGA President Jere W. Morehead’s Task Force on Race, Ethnicity, and Community, are now open.

The award is presented to a faculty member who has made a considerable contribution to promoting diversity, equity and inclusion within and beyond the classroom at the University of Georgia. The award will be presented at the Embracing Diversity event each fall. The awardee will receive a $1,000 cash award.

The Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander award is open to all UGA faculty. All components of the dossier must be submitted by May 31 in order for a faculty member to be considered for the award.

Each dean, director or vice president of a school, college or other unit may nominate up to two faculty members per year for the Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander Inclusive Community Award.

A complete nomination includes a dossier of the following items:

  1. Letter of Nomination from dean, director or vice president
  2. CV of nominee
  3. One- to three-page narrative written by the nominee that outlines their contributions to diversity, equity and inclusion within and beyond the classroom at UGA. This should also include examples of their commitment to DEI work while fulfilling the institution’s tripartite mission of teaching, research and service.
  4. Additional artifacts such as relevant publications, presentations, syllabi showcasing innovative curriculum and examples of institutional engagement.

A committee composed of three faculty members, one staff member from the Office of Institutional Diversity and one student will review all submissions materials. Only one person will be selected each year to receive the award.

All materials should be submitted in PDF format via this link to the Office of Institutional Diversity by May 31.