Campus News

Nominations for national award

UGA’s Center for Teaching and Learning is accepting nominations for the U.S. Professor of the Year Award. Sponsored by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, the award honors the nation’s best undergraduate teachers.

Any UGA faculty who teaches undergraduate students may apply or be nominated. Submissions must be made March 3 by 5 p.m. and include a simple dossier to CTL Director Eddie Watson at consisting of a one-page letter of interest, a brief note of support from his/her department chair or dean and a current curriculum vitae.

Each national winner receives $5,000 contributed by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching; an all-expense paid trip for the winner, one guest and a current or former student to Washington, D.C., for the November awards celebration; an invitation to speak at the November awards luncheon and recognition at an evening congressional reception; and national media recognition.

Each state-level recipient also receives complimentary attendance for two at the luncheon and congressional reception, along with a recognition of achievement.

Visit for more information. Email questions to Chase Hagood, CTL assistant director for faculty development and recognition.