Society & Culture

UGA students, alumni offered record number of NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Todd Pierson

Athens, Ga. – A record number of University of Georgia students and alumni have been offered National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships this year. The highly competitive awards recognize and support outstanding graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines.

The 16 UGA students and alumni were among the 2,000 fellows selected from more than 16,000 applicants nationwide for the 2015 competition.

“The University of Georgia’s academic programs in the STEM disciplines are among the best in the nation,” said UGA President Jere W. Morehead. “We expect our outstanding students and alumni who represent these programs to compete successfully for the most prestigious academic awards, and they do so consistently. I extend my congratulations to the award recipients for this significant accomplishment.”

UGA’s 2015 NSF Fellows and their fields of study are:
Catherine Lynn Debban, evolutionary biology.
Courtney Kathleen Ellison, microbial biology.
Eilidh Geddes, economics.
Devon Paul Humphreys, evolutionary biology.
Ayan Hussein, neurosciences.
Jake Philip Moskowitz, psychology.
Liza Diep Ngo, biochemistry.
Hilde Oliver, biological oceanography.
Tomas Pickering, ecology.
Todd Pierson, evolutionary biology.
Malavika Rajeev, ecology.
Daniel John Read, cultural anthropology.
Francisco Jesus Sarabia, sustainable chemistry.
Olivia Ann Thompson, microbial biology.
Amy Katherine Webster, genetics.
Castle Adam Williams, communications.