Campus News

OLLI elects new officers, board members

The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at UGA, a nonprofit, volunteer-managed organization with members throughout Northeast Georgia, has elected new officers and board members for the year beginning July 1.

New officers and their positions are: Mac Rawson, president; Bill Alworth, president-elect; Nancy Canolty, vice president for programs; John Songster, treasurer; and Carolyn Abney, secretary. Retiring officers are Anita Brannen, Robert Leventry and Sally Bolemon.

New board of director members are Helen Epps, William Loughner, Pat McAlexander, Don Schneider and Jay Shin. Serving on the board for another year are Ann Darby, Richard Hargrove, Martha Phillips, Nancy Songster, Alexis Winger and Joe Harris. Carolyn Abney, Bill Alworth, Ron Linhart, Teresa Morris and Grace Rabek are retiring from the board.

The Carol Fisher Award for long and dedicated service to OLLI was presented to Kathy Gratzek of Athens. The award honors a late UGA faculty member, who also was a longtime member of OLLI at UGA and its predecessor, Learning in Retirement.

OLLI’s annual meeting was held May 25 at Central Presbyterian Church in Athens.