Campus News

Peabody Awards gets new members

Three new members have been appointed to the George Foster Peabody Awards Board. Joining the other distinguished experts who select television and radio’s most coveted prize are: Eddie Garrett of Chicago, Marquita Pool-Eckert of New York and N. Bird Runningwater of Los Angeles. They will help the board choose the recipients of the 71st annual Peabody Awards.

Garrett recently joined the Edelman Company, a global public relations firm based in Chicago, as senior vice president for digital strategies. He holds a bachelor’s degree in communications and a M.B.A. from UGA and was a member of the CNN team that won a 2005 Peabody Award for coverage of Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath.

Pool-Eckert has taught journalism at Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and the City College of New York’s Hunter College since retiring in 2006 from her position as senior producer for CBS News Sunday Morning. She had a 30-year career at CBS News that includes 12 national Emmys.

Runningwater is director of the Native American Program at the Sundance Institute. Previously, he oversaw the Institute’s Native American and Indigenous Program, served as executive director of the private philanthropy organization Fund of the Four Directions, and as a program associate in the Ford Foundation’s Media, Arts and Culture Program.

He is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma and the University of Texas at Austin.