Campus News

Ph.D. student wins Osborn Scholarship

Early childhood education doctoral student Boyoung Park was awarded the D. Keith Osborn Scholarship in recognition of her academic achievement. Park, a native of Seoul, Korea, was awarded the $500 scholarship by the elementary education program.

A pioneer in early childhood education, Osborn was a professor of education and child development for 26 years at UGA’s College of Education. From 1980 to 1993, he was also graduate coordinator for the department of elementary education. Before coming to UGA, he was one of the first male teachers of young children. He was a faculty member and division chair at the Merrill Palmer Institute from 1952 to 1968. Osborn received numerous teaching awards at UGA, including the 1987 Josiah Meigs Award, the university’s highest teaching honor. In 1988, he was named Georgia Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.