Campus News

Presidential search committee appointed

The board of regents has appointed a committee to help find the next president for the University of Georgia. A national search will be conducted to find a successor to UGA President Michael F. Adams, who will step down on June 30, 2013. Adams has served as UGA’s president since 1997.

Regents on the committee are Larry Walker (committee chair), Rusty Griffin, Don Leebern, Dink NeSmith, Doreen Poitevint, Ben Tarbutton III and Philip Wilheit. Chris Cummiskey, commissioner of the Georgia Department of Economic Development, also has been named to the committee.

Search committee members from UGA are Alan Darvill, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences; Steve Stice, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; K. Paige Carmichael, College of Veterinary Medicine; Dennis Epps, Carl Vinson Institute of Government; Denise A. Spangler, College of Education; John C. Inscoe, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences; Dean Robert Sumichrast, Terry College of Business; Larry Thompson, School of Law; Jerry Daniel, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences and chair of the Staff Council; Will Burgess, president of the Student Government Association; William D. Young Jr., chair of the University of Georgia Foundation; Judge Steve Jones, president of the UGA Alumni Association; and Rogers Wade, member of the UGA Agricultural Engineering Advisory Board.

The Dallas, Texas, firm of R. William Funk and Associates has been retained to provide executive search consulting services. The committee will hold its first meeting July 24.