Campus News

Promotion, tenure review committees are announced

In accordance with the University of Georgia guidelines for appointment, promotion and tenure, the membership of the University Review Committees are being ­announced.

“These faculty members spent many hours evaluating promotion and tenure nominations,” said Provost Arnett C. Mace Jr. “Their service to the university is appreciated.”

University Review Committee members for 2007-2008 are:

Fine and Applied Arts-Ronald Bogue, Allen Crowell, Robert Curtis (elected chair), Judith McWillie, Frances Teague, John Waters and Mark Wheeler.

Health and Clinical Sciences-Douglas Allen, Cathy Brown, Susan Fagan, Jeffrey Fisher, Zhen Fu, Kevin McCully and Pamela Orpinas (elected chair).

Humanities-Richard Friedman, Edward Halper, Sandy Martin, R. Baxter Miller, John Morrow (elected chair), Sarah Spence and Katharina Wilson.  

Life Sciences-Marcus Fechheimer, Mark Froetschel (elected chair), David Knauft, Richard Meagher, Alan Przybyla, David Radcliffe and Mark Schell.

Physical Sciences-I. Jonathan Amster, Jean-Pierre Caillault, Gauri Datta, Jeff Dorfman, Paul Schroeder (elected chair), Thiab R. Taha and Qing Zhang.

Social and Behavioral Sciences-James Cobb, Billy R. Hammond, Ruth Harris, Steven Holloway, Stephen Kowalewski, Jerome Legge and Ronald Simons (elected chair).

Professional and Applied Studies [A]-Mary Atwater (elected chair), Judy Harrison, Margie Lee, Scott Merkle, Horace Newcomb, Robert Shewfelt and Robert Vandenberg.

Professional and Applied Studies [B]-Benjamin Ayers, Michelle Commeyras, Denise Glynn, Michael Holosko, Kenneth Latimer (elected chair), Jeffry Netter and James C. Smith.

Professional and Applied Studies [C]-Steven Budsberg (elected chair), Dale Greene, Ruthann Lariscy, Sharon Nickols, Stephen Olejnik, Omer Reed and Ralph Steuer.

On April 24, 2007, the University Promotion and Tenure Appeals Committee became a standing committee of University Council. A membership list is available on the University Council Web site (